The previous Six Nations champions in the year after a Rugby World Cup


The Six Nations tournament has seen a pattern of teams bouncing back from Rugby World Cup disappointments to claim victory. In 2000, England won the Six Nations after a disappointing World Cup campaign. 

France followed suit in 2004 after a promising World Cup performance. Wales also secured victories in 2008 and 2012 after underwhelming World Cup showings. England repeated this trend in 2016, bouncing back from a disappointing World Cup to claim the Six Nations title.

 In 2020, England continued the pattern by carrying their excellent World Cup form into the Six Nations. These instances highlight the excitement and unpredictability of the tournament, as teams have shown resilience and determination to succeed following setbacks on the global stage. 

As fans eagerly anticipate the 2024 Six Nations, they can reflect on these previous champions as a testament to the tournament's dynamic nature and the teams' ability to rise to the occasion.


news flash